refresh

Only after a long Vermont winter does 50 degrees means that it’s shorts and flip-flop weather.

After braving below-freezing temperatures, ridiculous wind, and grey skies since October, days like today feel like summer. I swear, your body adjusts to it being cold all the time, so when it finally warms up, you suddenly feel like you’re living in the Caribbean. Or a greenhouse, if you’re stuck in your dorm room. Normally the three windows in my room are great, but sometimes when they let all of this lovely sunlight in, the room gets a little stuffy. Ah, the price we pay for sunlight.

Needless to say though, that stuffiness is kind of gross to sit in for an extended period of time.

Extended periods of time are needed to write long papers. You might say “why not go to the dark, cool library?” Well, I’ll tell you: walking around in the library makes you feel like a bull in a china shop. Breathe too loudly, and you get disapproving looks from the people studying along the walls. Walk too quickly, and people look up in a panic. Drop a book, and you’re toast.

Maybe that’s a bit dramatic.

But I like my room. It’s cozy, and the library certainly doesn’t have any pillows to lean up against. Just those hard, awkward wooden chairs. I also don’t think that standing up every 3o minutes to dance wildly to the Spice Girls in order to break up the monotony of typing is encouraged whilst there. Nor does the library have any chocolate covered ginger, or a kettle to make tea.

Not that tea is the thing to drink on a day like today.

Tea is so cozy and warm; it goes much better with winter and fall than it does the brightness of spring and summer. I’ve been experimenting, trying to find some teas better suited to warmer months, but nothing has been really fabulous so far. But that’s okay, seeing as I’ve come up with a lovely thirst quencher that helps wash away the sticky heat and book dust (I’m writing about Bismarck, and some of these books haven’t been touched in YEARS). Hopefully you’ll find it just as appealing.

Ginger-Lime Spritzer

2 tsp ginger chopped finely (or grated on a microplane)

1 lime

1 tsp lime zest

2 cups of seltzer water*

Chop up the ginger and put it in your large glass. Squeeze** all of the lime juice on top, throw in the lime zest, and let it all sit for a couple of minutes. Add the seltzer water (chilled, or you can add some ice, too), and you’re set to go!

*before coming to the East Coast, I thought seltzer water was something that fancy people drank on nice occasions. Apparently that’s not the case, and it’s a rather enjoyable change from plain water. Polar Seltzer has fun flavors, but I don’t recall ever seeing it at home. Hmmm…I’ll have to do some searching when I go home.

**”Santa” (mom) left a nice citrus juicer in my stocking this past Christmas. I’ll admit, I was dubious about the whole thing, but it’s really come in handy quite often. I highly recommend it as an investment, and will no longer be so suspicious when my mother hands out cooking implements.

It’s 56 degrees and sunny!

Leave a Reply

