The best ice cream you will ever eat

It’s 9:30 in the morning and I am eating ice cream. Now why, you may ask, am I eating ice cream for breakfast?

Good question.

First of all, it’s not breakfast. It’s dessert. I had some lovely sautéed steak and zucchini for breakfast after a nice swim. I’ve been out of the water for a while and have just started swimming again this week. It’s harder than I remember, but definitely worth all the effort. Sometimes when you get involved in something really intensely, whether it’s a sport, job, or project, you forget why you started doing it in the first place; all the fun gets taken out of it. It’s because of this that I’m glad that I’ve not been swimming a lot for the past couple of months. Stepping back and taking a break has helped me remember how much I love being in the water. Swimming is SOOOO much better than running. If you can swim, there is absolutely no reason to run. Ever.

But maybe that’s just me.

At the gym a week or so ago while I was on a cardio machine, a woman came up and asked if I could show her how to use it. It’s nice to know that I’m not the only person in the gym that looks at some machines and goes “how on earth do you make that work?”. It was also nice to chat for a bit. Turns out that after having 3 (!) kids, she decided to start doing triathalons. We talked about the different aspects and she said that while running was super easy and relaxed, swimming was hard because she always tenses up. I know exactly how she feels, only the other way around. Having never done anything involving running growing up, it’s not natural for me and I always feel so tense and out of place when trying to run. Plus, swimming is so much easier and YOU DON’T GET ALL SWEATY!!!!

Each to his own though.

Anyways, back to me, sitting here, eating ice cream. Really probably not the best choice, but I’ve decided to make Thursdays ‘treat’ days. That way there is a designated day to test out all of my sweet ideas, instead of randomly testing things throughout the week. So today is the first Thursday Treat Day. Since it’s been so hot (for Seattle…in the 80s), ice cream seemed like a lovely choice.

Strawberry ice cream is my favorite flavor ever. Cookie dough was the favorite for a while, but there is something about a really fresh, bright strawberry ice cream that just can’t be beat. Plus it’s summer, so strawberries are everywhere.

The last time I had strawberry ice cream was last summer in Boston. My sister and a friend and I went to FoMu, an ice cream place that makes vegan alternative ice cream in tons of different flavors. It was amazing. Unfortunately, that was also the night that we deduced that coconut and I don’t agree. Needless to say, I haven’t been back, but if coconut works for you and you happen to be in Boston, definitely check it out! Especially if you’re there in the summer – I have no idea how Bostonians survive the summer humidity.

Since then, I’ve wanted to make my own strawberry ice cream but haven’t had the chance until now. This ice cream is free of refined sugar and super easy. A six year old could make it in about 7 minutes.

Tangy Strawberry Ice Cream

3 frozen bananas

10 large frozen strawberries

Juice from 2 limes

1/3 cup milk of choice (don’t use hemp if you don’t have to – I did and the earthy flavor really came out)

1 tsp vanilla

½ tsp Hawaiian flake salt

10 medium basil leaves, chopped

Throw the banana pieces and strawberries into your food processor and pulse for about a minute, until everything looks kind of crumbly but is still pretty frozen. Scrape down the sides of the bowl with a spatula and add the milk, vanilla, and salt. Blend for about 20 seconds. Add the lime juice and the basil and blend until everything is smooth. Taste test and adjust things if you want to. Add a dash of tequila if you’re feeling daring.strawbasil_icecream

Then devour your creation. Or freeze it for later. Just make sure that you put it out to thaw for about 5 minutes before scooping it into bowls, if you’re using them. At our house, we prefer to eat right out of the container!

However you’re going at it, enjoy.

Side note: I like to play the Food Network in the background whilst writing. It makes me feel all cool and chef-like. Anyways, at this moment Ina Garten is cheerfully adding heavy cream to some lovely dark chocolate in order to make chocolate covered strawberries. Ina, you seem like a nice lady and all, but PUT DOWN THE CREAM AND STEP AWAY FROM THE CHOCOLATE. The only things that should go into chocolate covered strawberries are strawberries and chocolate. No need to complicate matters.

Another beautiful, sunny 80 degree day. I’m not sure that we’re actually in Seattle anymore from how sunny it’s been.

Leave a Reply

