pistachios!

Wednesday was my last day interning before leaving to go abroad. It’s rather bittersweet; sad to be going, but excited to go to Europe!

I promise, I’m not just going to vacation in Europe for four months. Although that would be lovely. I’ll be studying at a university in Bordeaux to fulfill the study abroad requirement for my major.

Anyways, this means that, come Monday, I’m off to live in the land of baguettes and fromage for the semester.

Baguettes and cheese don’t really fit into my diet.

We know a Parisian family, and I was lucky to spend some time with them before becoming allergic to everything. And let me tell you, there is absolutely nothing wrong with starting your day in France with a nice, luscious tartine. A tartine is a baguette, sliced in half down the middle and then cut into sections. Upon receiving your tartine, you spread butter (good, rich, French butter), jam, honey, and/or nutella all over it. It’s truly a wonderful way to start the day.

The only time that I really regret not being able to eat bread is when I walk by a French bakery.

Those people know what they’re doing.

So, while all of my counterparts in the study abroad program will be discovering the delightful heavenliness that is a tartine, I will be exploring the other side of French cuisine. One that hopefully involves significantly less flour and butter.

I’m still skeptical, but we’ll see. On the plus side, I will be studying in Bordeaux, so if I can’t find any food to eat, at least there will be wine.

On second thought, that’s probably not the best plan.

Oh, the adventure!

In addition to France, I’m also going to spend a few days in Berlin before heading to school in Bordeaux. In high school, I was given the option of taking either German or choir. Since music really, really, doesn’t run in my family, German it was. I’m excited to go practice a little bit.

Plus, one of the only Paleo restaurants IN THE WORLD is in Berlin. They claim to be the only one in the world, but there must be at least one other Paleo restaurant somewhere. After all, the world is rather large.

It’s called Sauvage.

I’m so excited.

I’m equally excited about these cookies that I made to take to work with me today. Since it is my last day, it kind of felt like a real reason to bake.

Anyways, these cookies were SO GOOD. Little balls of delectableness.

Chocolate Pistachio Cookies – makes 14 cookies

1 cup shelled pistachios (please buy them pre-shelled. I shelled mine by hand, and it really took forever)

3 dates

1 TBSP maple syrup

3 TBSP cocoa powder

¼ cup grapeseed oil

½ cup dairy-free chocolate drops and dried cherries

Flaked sea salt, for sprinkling afterwards

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees.IMG_0557

Toss the pistachios in the food processor until they’re a sandy consistency. Then add everything else except for the chocolate chips and cherries and pulse until a ball of ‘dough’ forms. Then stir in the chocolate and cherries. Drop onto a cookie sheet and bake for about 10 minutes, or until the cookies firm up a bit.

Also, apologies for the finger that’s blurring up the edge of the photo. My fingers seem to have an unfortunate knack for making their way into pictures.

Enjoy!  IMG_0563

It’s been kind of cloudy and drizzly for the past couple of days before I leave for the heat (apparently it’s been a rather warm summer in Europe).

4 thoughts on “pistachios!

  1. While it might not strictly qualify as a restaurant, because it is actually a food cart (or rather, three of them), Portland has Cultured Caveman. It’s well worth a visit.

    Safe and healthy travels to you!

Leave a Reply

