breakfast with bentley

I’m currently obsessed with Dierks Bentley. In the past 24 hours I’ve listened to Bourbon in Kentucky about 10 times. Not to mention cycling through Say You Do a mere 36 times (hooray for iTunes counting stuff like that). And yes, to eliminate any doubt, this is country music. #sorrynotsorry.

Yes, country and grunge rock are amongst my favorite varieties of music. Before you say anything, yes, my friends have already alerted me to the fact that I am musically inept. As in I am rarely allowed to DJ at parties. Although they’ve gradually learned to at least tolerate country, so that’s a plus.

Because you just can’t have a good party without some down home country.

No, I’m not from the South. But one summer in Louisville was enough to make me a country-loving convert.

Anyways, Dierks Bentley. Great background study music.

Which is why I’ve been listening to him since 6 this morning.

I used to get up super early to work out and then go do work. As it turns out, I think my body prefers to get up super early, enjoy some tea, get some work done, possibly have a snack, and then go work out around 10:30.

Music is required to stay awake for the first hour or so though, hence the Dierks Bentley.

I’m also a big fan of background noise, especially when making breakfast and whatnot.

Ah breakfast. Easily the most challenging meal of the day without gluten, eggs or dairy. Fortunately I’ve never been a big breakfast lover. A lot of people go for smoothies but a) SO MUCH LOUD NOISE INVOLVED, especially early in the morning, b) I don’t find them particularly satisfying, and c) why do I want a cold beverage when it’s 30 degrees outside in the morning?

So, breakfast sausage. I started making them last fall in France because they were easily transportable, but found that they’re actually great for breakfast at home too. They’re enough to provide some actual nutrition but not so large that they settle in your stomach like a brick. And bonus: they is tons of locally and sustainably raised turkey around.

Also, a side note about ground meat and digestive issues. I was listening the Balanced Bites podcast (with Diane Sanfilippo of the 21 Day Sugar Detox) the other day and she was discussing how junk food is more easily digested because it’s pre-processed, and therefore people with digestive issues might tend to prefer it even though junk food isn’t particularly healthy. In my own experience, ground meat (say ground turkey or ground beef) seems more appealing than something like a steak or turkey breast and I’ve never been able to figure out why. It’s certainly not as aesthetically pleasing. While my digestion isn’t horrible, let’s just say I’m infinitely happier with a ton of digestive enzymes, so it makes sense that ground meat seems more appealing than something whole.

It also makes things like hash and breakfast sausage much easier to throw together, which isn’t a bad thing.

So for breakfasts I’ve been alternating between some homemade chicken stock with avocado on the side and turkey breakfast sausage accompanied by an apple or carrot. Yes, apples and carrots probably aren’t the most nutritionally dense, paleo-preferred choices, but I like them and really enjoy having something a little sweet to start the day. Besides, there are some other veggies tucked into the sausages!

Turkey Breakfast Sausage

2 lbs ground turkey

2 carrots

2 celery stalks

1 cup shaved Brussels sprouts (optional)

1/2 finely diced yellow onion

1/2 cup chopped parsley

salt & pepper

olive oil for cooking

This is incredibly simple and easy to make. Dice up all of the veggies and parsley into small pieces. Toss them into a bowl with the turkey, salt, and pepper. Mix everything up and form into patties (I generally get 10-12 from 2 lbs of turkey). Heat olive oil on medium-low heat and toss in a couple of patties. Cook for 6-7 minutes on each side, until cooked through. Work in batches until everything is done! These freeze and thaw easily if you make them in large batches…I tend to make a bunch on Sundays or another day with downtime and freeze about half for later in the week(s). There pretty good cold if you’re in a hurry, but can easily be heated up as well for a warm fall breakfast. Enjoy with a nice mug of ginger tea.

Loving the brisk fall air. Our row on the lake tonight was beautiful and perfectly calm; we got to watch the sun set over the mountains and the moon come out while on the lake…Ok, this is from earlier this fall, but still gorgeous. And oh yeah, our boat is the Artemis, which is pretty awesome.

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

